New Hampshire Marijuana Decriminalization Measure Signed Into Law Paul Armentano
CONCORD, NH — New Hampshire’s Republican Governor Chris Sununu has signed legislation decriminalizing minor marijuana possession offenses.
House Bill 640, which takes effect in 60 days, eliminates criminal penalties for the possession of up to 3/4 of an ounce of cannabis and/or up to five grams of hashish for those age 18 or older.
Under the new law, first time offenders will receive a civil violation punishable by a $100 fine.
Presently, first-time marijuana possession is punishable by up to one year in prison, a potential $2,000 fine, and a criminal record.
“New Hampshire now will finally join the chorus of states that recognize the baseline level of dignity for it’s citizens and tourists who choose to consume marijuana,” said Justin Strekal, NORML Political Director. “Soon, throughout New England, individuals will be able to freely travel without the threat of jail time for possession of marijuana.”
New Hampshire is the only New England state that presently treats minor possession offenses as a criminal offense.
Tags: 2017 Legislation, 2017 Regular Session, Chris Sununu, marijuana decriminalization, New Hampshire, New Hampshire marijuana decriminalization, NH HB 640, Renny Cushing